USB JTAG  

Go Back   USB JTAG > USBJTAG (NT) > Devices > USB JTAG (NT) on SurfBoard Modems > SB6XXX

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2015, 10:29 PM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default Boot for 6141

Does anybody have boot for the 6141 modem ????
Or maybee there is 'noisy' boot for it ????
have one modem given to me by friend and it is bricked.
Have bin for it, but no boot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2015, 04:58 PM
ricktendo ricktendo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 137
Default

Here is a original SB6141 bootloader, extracted it with the DPC3000 config from a full flash
Attached Files
File Type: rar 6141-boot.rar (50.6 KB, 271 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2015, 03:24 AM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

great thanx.
Gonna try bring it to life that baby today.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2015, 09:10 AM
ricktendo ricktendo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 137
Default

Do you happen to have a backup of your nvram?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:27 PM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

Have nothing, I am gonna solder connection today and try to make backup first, before I load anything on it.

Do not know why it is bricked, no lights, when i turn it on. Hook up good power supply, looks like dead when power is on, no lights..

But that doesn't mean, that full backup is impossible.

Have also 6580 bricked, no lights, but was able to do backup, reading and writings, no problem, lights of course came on when connecting jtagNT, but after that goes off.

Have at first to sorted out all files loaded, then start my other comp, where jtagNT soft is on.
Hopefully gonna get everything ready tonight.

However have question, is boot for DC3000 same as for 6141 ?????
Those modems have completely different boards, maybee tuner is different too????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2015, 07:14 PM
ricktendo ricktendo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 137
Default

I took this from a original SB6141 image using the script from DC3000 because I could not find a SB6141 script, but I guess I should have used the SB6120 script since these are similar

Edit: no matter, extracted with SB6120 script and the same result

Code:
  File: boot.bin
CRC-32: 64033739
   MD4: f6a111e98a24e1d2e455639335e893ee
   MD5: 0ab6a0c984d62520bc6d0504545bb9a3
 SHA-1: dbeaaccb47c95c555b8a385a46c6ce26b8d23267
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2015, 09:04 PM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

Great thanx.
As long as it is from original 6141, it is gonna be OK
6141 and DPC 3000 have the same amount of memory, so script for DPC 3000 is perfectly OK. Script for 6120 for extracting boot is OK too, as both boots have the same length.
Thanx agan, really appreciate your time and expertize.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2015, 04:57 AM
stas101 stas101 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

dpc3000 is 16m flash, sb6120 is 8m...extract using the sb6120...tried many times...works fine...As for a bricked sbg6580 - open it and press on the big heat sink that covers cpu...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2015, 04:02 PM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stas101 View Post
dpc3000 is 16m flash, sb6120 is 8m...extract using the sb6120...tried many times...works fine...As for a bricked sbg6580 - open it and press on the big heat sink that covers cpu...
Thanks, gonna try that out this 6580.
Is it possible, that this chip - cpu is BGA and is not soldered properly, maybee need to be reheated?
Cold solder or something like that ? Board was made in China.
Hmmm, If I heat heat sink, glue is gonna give up, so have to find out how to permanently attach heat sink back to the cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-2015, 05:13 PM
marthypaul marthypaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

hey Stas, I have tried your method to put pressure on CPU heat sink.
First light shows up, and rest of them don't.
When I release pressure, first light goes off.
Yeah, it is kind of BGA chip, this main cpu, but it is not suitable to heat up, as epoxy is a small part in the middle, and sides are something like axtended add on board.
Because of that, it was not connected right during production with "heat reflow" procedure.

Do not know, if it is worth to further fool around with this modem, as I have 4 more to play around.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-28-2015, 09:41 AM
Bugman1400 Bugman1400 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricktendo View Post
I took this from a original SB6141 image using the script from DC3000 because I could not find a SB6141 script, but I guess I should have used the SB6120 script since these are similar

Edit: no matter, extracted with SB6120 script and the same result

Code:
  File: boot.bin
CRC-32: 64033739
   MD4: f6a111e98a24e1d2e455639335e893ee
   MD5: 0ab6a0c984d62520bc6d0504545bb9a3
 SHA-1: dbeaaccb47c95c555b8a385a46c6ce26b8d23267
You got anything that explains the script for the DPC3000, I would like to learn this. I am having trouble with extracting the image from my 6141.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.