complete newbie

Newbies post here.
afallison

complete newbie

Post by afallison »

for one - i apologize for all the stupid questions i may be asking. i'm sure the information is there, i am just having some problems.

I came into a large amount of surfboard 5101's and i have aquired a usbjtag. i have dissassembled a modem and successfully connected it to my computer. i have downloaded the USB JTAG software and viewed the video on the help page on how to program with sigma.

my question is basically how do i program this modem with sigma. i tried to follow the commands on the help page and from the video, but no luck. does this have something to do with the .def file?

i understand that this is a very basic operation, but any information would be very helpful. thanks!
usbbdm

Post by usbbdm »

Before you do programming, first you need to get familiar with the commands. Do the backup and restore first. You also need to understand where the firmware goes. Once you understand this, it is just a matter of know how to program the flash.
tester5

Post by tester5 »

5101 dosent have sigma....youcan probaly only change mac search the forum 5101 you should fdind how to do that i think has been discussed
afallison

Post by afallison »

first, thanks for the feedback. so if sigma cannot be applied, can the firmware? my ultimate goal is to uncap my modem. so a firmware update would be my first step - i assume. i have backed up my original firmware and i am just completely lost on A) how to update the firmware (and which version) and B) apply the 0/0 config file (max dl/ul) i have. also, does this process bypass the CMAC provisioning?

so where do i go from here. the issue i have is with the USB JTAG software. the videos dont match up. for expample, the sigma update video (which i now know wont work on the 5101) looks different from what i have. is there a different .def file being used.